26 newly-elected councillors of sixth Leh council to be administered oath of workplace

- Advertisement -

The 26 newly-elected councillors of the sixth Ladakh Autonomous Hill Development Council (LAHDC)-Leh shall be administered oath of workplace and secrecy on Saturday.

Additional district commissioner Sonam Chosjor stated, “All 26 councillors will be administered oath by principal district and sessions judge Ranbir Singh Jasrotia at Sindhu Sanskriti Kendra at 9.30am on Saturday.”

- Advertisement -

He added that thereafter, the chief govt councillor and deputy chief govt councillor shall be elected. The time period of fifth LAHDC-Leh will finish on Friday.

LAHDC-Leh has a complete of 30 seats and 4 councilors are nominated by the govt.

Since the formation of the hill council in 1995, the Congress had swept the polls thrice, whereas the Ladakh Union Territorial Front had gained the elections in 2005.The BJP wrested management of the council from Congress for the primary time within the last elections by profitable 18 out of 26 seats.

Celebrations shall be held to mark the primary anniversary of the UT standing to Ladakh after the oath-taking ceremony. On October 31, 2019, Ladakh was made a UT with out legislature whereas Jammu and Kashmir was transformed into Union Territory with legislature.

The people of Leh have been demanding constitutional safeguards below sixth schedule and on September 28, former Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) minister and ex-president of the BJP’s Ladakh unit, Chering Dorjay had cautioned the Centre of a sustained campaign in case the apex body was deceived.

(With inputs from PTI)

[Attribution HT]

- Advertisement -