A Suitable Boy trailer: Ishaan Khatter, Tabu star in Mira Nair's BBC series adaptation of Vikram Seth book – The News Everyday

- Advertisement -

A Suitable Boy has been tailored for screen by author Andrew Davies, finest identified for his work on Pride and Prejudice and War & Peace

The trailer of Mira Nair’s highly-anticipated BBC series A Suitable Boy, an adaptation of Vikram Seth’s acclaimed novel was issued on 11 July. The six-part series has been tailored for screen by author Andrew Davies, finest identified for his work on Pride and Prejudice and War & Peace.

- Advertisement -

A Suitable Boy tells the story of spirited college scholar Lata (Tanya Maniktala); coming of age in North India in 1951 concurrently the nation is carving out its personal id as an self dependent nation and is about to go to the polls for its first democratic general election.

Tanya Maniktala as Lata in A Suitable Boy. Image from YouTube

The trailer, set to ‘Indian Summer’ by Jai Wolf, exhibits Lata’s mom Rupa (Mahira Kakkar) telling her, “You will marry a boy I select.” “I do not assume I ever need to get married,” responds Lata. Soon after Lata is noticed on the town with somebody her mom doesn’t approve of.

The transient clip also exhibits Ishaan Khatter as her brother-in-law Maan and his illicit romance with Saeeda Bai (Tabu). Ram Kapoor plays his politician father, who reprimands him, “Have you no disgrace?”

Here is the trailer

Love will push you past your boundaries. ⁣

Based on the best-selling novel, A Suitable Boy begins 26th July on @BBCOne and @BBCiPlayer. ⁣ pic.twitter.com/aVT81SAq8y

— BBC One (@BBCOne) July 11, 2020

Namit Das, Rasika Dugal, Vivaan Shah, Danesh Razvi, Randeep Hooda, Vijay Varma, Vijay Raaz, and Aamir Bashir are also a part of the solid.

Produced by Lookout Point, the UK-based TV manufacturing firm behind War and Peace, Les Misrables, and Gentleman Jack, this adaptation has been shot throughout distinct places in India.

BBC will premiere A Suitable Boy on its channel BBC One and streaming platforms on 26 July.


- Advertisement -