Allowed an Australian to attain a century: Steve Bucknor admits his ‘two mistakes’ might need ‘cost’ India the Sydney Test in 2008

62
Allowed an Australian to attain a century: Steve Bucknor admits his ‘two mistakes’ might need ‘cost’ India the Sydney Test in 2008
- Advertisement -

The India vs Australia Test match at Sydney in 2008 would maybe go down as some of the controversial Test matches between the 2 nations. Cricket took backstage with the Test match revolving across the controversial umpiring selections by Steve Bucknor and Mark Benson and the ‘monkeygate’ scandal between India’s Harbhajan Singh and Australia’s Andrew Symonds.
12 years after that Test match, which Australia gained in dramatic style within the dying hours of Day 5, umpire Steve Bucknor agreed that his two errors might have value India the Sydney Test.
“I made two mistakes in the Sydney Test in 2008,” Bucknor instructed Midday.
“Mistake one, which happened when India were doing well, allowed an Australian batsman to get a hundred. Mistake two, on Day Five, might have cost India the game. But still, they are two mistakes over five days. Was I the first umpire to make two mistakes in a Test? Still, those two mistakes seem to have haunted me,” Bucknor added.
The West Indian umpire was referring to his determination to Day 1 of the Test match that allowed Andrew Symonds a life. Australia have been tottering at 135 for six when Symonds and Brad Hogg had simply began to construct a partnership.
India’s Ishant Sharma found the within fringe of Symond’s bat when the all-rounder was batting at 30 however Bucknor dominated it as not out.
Symonds, in a while, survived one other stumping enchantment which may have gone both means. He rode his luck to slam 160 as Australia posted 463. In reply, Sachin Tendulkar and VVS Laxman hit centuries as India took a 69-run lead.
Australia set India 333-run target on Day 5 with solely 72 overs of play remaining. India have been recovering from a poor begin with Rahul Dravid and Sourav Ganguly stitching a superb partnership before the former was given out caught for 38 within the 34th over off Andrew Symonds bowling by Steve Bucknor. Replays confirmed there was no bat involved, the ball had really gone off Dravid’s pads. This Bucknor referred as his ‘second mistake’ which he believed might need ‘cost India the Test match’.
Ganguly too fell to a controversial umpiring decision however MS Dhoni and Anil Kumble had managed to take India deep. After Dhoni’s dismissal, India’s tail couldn’t wag as Michael Clarke took three wickets in a single over to seal a 122-run win.
“You need to know why mistakes are made. You don’t want to make similar mistakes again. I am not giving excuses but there are times when the wind is blowing down the pitch and the sound travels with the wind. The commentators hear the nick from the stump mic but the umpires may not be sure. These are things spectators won’t know,” Bucknor added.
[Attribution HT]

- Advertisement -