Darnella gets Pulitzer Prize for recording George Floyd’s murder, see full list

- Advertisement -

The Pulitzer Awards in the fields of journalism and the arts were announced on Friday. In the last one year, when people were forced to stay indoors due to the global pandemic Corona virus, while many people took to the streets against racial atrocities, during that time the best work done in these fields will be honored. This year Darnella Frasier was given special citation. He recorded the incident in Minnesota during which black-American George Floyd lost his life. After this, there were huge demonstrations against racial violence not only in America but around the world. List of winners-

exoplanetary reporting– Andrew Chang, Lawrence Hurley, Andrea Januta, Jamie Dowell, Jackie Botts, Reuters

breaking news photographer Associated Press Photography Staff

- Advertisement -

Biography- Le Pen and Tamara Penn, The Dead Are Arising

Feature photography- Emilio Morenati, Associated Press

music- Tania Leone, Stride

Special Citation- Daniela Frazier

fiction- Luigi Erdick, The Night Watchman

non-Fiction – David Zuccino, Wilmington’s Lie

Poetry- Natalie Diaz, Postcolonial Love Poem

history-Marcia Chatlen, Franchisee

drama- Katori Hall, The Hot Wing King

public service- The New York Times

audio reporting- Lisa Hagen, Chris Hegzel, Graham Smith, Robert Little

editorial writing- robert green

Criticism- Weasley Morris, The New York Times

Commentary- Michael Paul Williams, Richmond Times Dispatch

Feature writing- Mitchell S Jackson, Runners World

Feature writing-Naja Roast, California Sunday Magazine

International reporting- Megha Rajagopalan, Alison Killing, Christo Bushek

National reporting The Marshall Project, ALdotcom, IndyStar, Invisible Institute

local reporting Kathleen McGrory, Neil Bedi, Tampa Bay Times

exoplanetary reportingEd Young, The Atlantic

Investigative reporting- Matt Rochelle, Vernal Coleman, Laura Crimaldi, Evan Allen, Brendan McCarthy, The Boston Globe

breaking news reportingThe Star Tribune was first awarded in the field of journalism in 1917 and is considered the most prestigious honor in America. Years like 2020 must have been few in the field of journalism when whatever happened was affected by Covid-19. The award ceremony was earlier scheduled to be held on April 19 but was postponed to June. Last year also the announcement of winners was delayed by two weeks as the board members were busy due to the pandemic situation and needed more time to assess the candidates.

[Attribution to NBT]

- Advertisement -