IPL 2020: ‘Neither a finisher nor a powerplay bowler, why are they playing him,’ Aakash Chopra baffled at KXIP’s crew choice

- Advertisement -

Former India opener Aakash Chopra blamed the crew choice of Kings XI Punjab for his or her defeat to Mumbai Indians.

Chopra stated KXIP are persisting with New Zealand all-rounder James Neesham who neither bowls within the powerplay. Chopra stated Neesham doesn’t even bat at prime 4.

- Advertisement -

“They play Neesham, an overseas fast bowler, who neither bowls in the powerplay nor in the death overs. He is neither a great finisher nor a big batsman who bats in the top four or five. So why is Kings XI Punjab playing him? You are playing a player who is not really a match-winner,” Chopra stated on his Youtube channel.

READ| IPL 2020, RCB vs RR Preview: Battle between two well-oiled batting items

The former India opener who’s at the moment in UAE working as a commentator within the IPL 2020, stated KXIP ought to embrace Afghanistan off-spinner Mujeeb-ur-Rahman within the taking part in XI.

“First thing is that Kings XI Punjab is not playing the right team. Honestly, they are the only team in the world where Mujeeb is not able to make it to the playing XI after being in the squad,” Chopra stated.

KXIP began off nicely with the ball however let the sport slip away within the demise overs when Kieron Pollard and Hardik Pandya actually caught into them. Chopra stated ending off Cottrell early was not a good suggestion.

“They bowled Sheldon Cottrell at the start and finished his quota of overs before the 15th over. What sort of bowling is that, you have to get him to the death. Otherwise, who will bowl at the death, Jimmy Neesham and Krishnappa Gowtham with Mohammed Shami.

READ | Shane Warne suggests three major changes in T20 cricket, tags legendary cricketers including Sachin Tendulkar, Sourav Ganguly and Brian Lara

“Shami is not India’s gun death bowler and then they give the 20th over to Gowtham, an off-spinner in the 20th over. You don’t even give that over to Sunil Narine, Ravichandran Ashwin or Harbhajan Singh nowadays and you gave it to Gowtham,” Chopra added.

[Attribution HT]

- Advertisement -