SAvIND LIVE: South Africa chooses batting, Venkatesh to make ODI debut

- Advertisement -

The first match of the three-match ODI series is being played between India and South Africa from today. South Africa have won the toss and decided to bat first. The match in Paarl will also mark the end of Virat Kohli’s captaincy as the new captain and the support staff along with the caretaker captain KL Rahul will be on trial. India (Playing XI) KL Rahul (Captain), Shikhar Dhawan, Virat Kohli, Shreyas Iyer, Rishabh Pant (WK), Venkatesh Iyer, Shardul Thakur, Ravichandran Ashwin, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Jasprit Bumrah, Yuzvendra Chahal South Africa (Playing XI) Quinton De Kock (wk), Zainman Malan, Edin Markram, Rasi van der Dusann, Temba Bavuma (c), David Miller, Andil Phehlukwayo, Marcos Jansson, Keshav Maharaj, Tabrez Shamsi, Lungi Ngidi

face to face:Total ODI – 84 SA won – 46 India won – 35 no result – 3

Deacock will returnOn the last tour, India defeated South Africa 5-1 in the ODI series, although South Africa are on their way to winning the Test series. Temba Bavuma would like to continue his Test form while Quinton de Kock, who has retired from Tests, would like to prove his worth in the ODIs. Fast bowler Marco Yansen, who has impressed in the Test series, can once again trouble the Indian batsmen.

- Advertisement -

[Attribution to NBT]

- Advertisement -