SMAT: Shahrukh Khan hits a six off the last ball, Tamil Nadu becomes champion for the third time

- Advertisement -

New Delhi
Tamil Nadu has won the Syed Mushtaq Ali T20 Trophy for the second time in a row. Karnataka had to taste defeat in a very exciting final. Tamil Nadu had a target of 152 runs. In such a situation, Shahrukh Khan made his team the champion by hitting a six on the last ball.

16 runs needed in the last over
The match was at a very exciting juncture. 11 runs had come off the first five balls. Now five runs were needed off the last ball. That is, the match would have been tied with a four and a six would have won. Shahrukh Khan, who is on strike, is known only for hitting big hits. Doing justice to his image, he blew the last ball of Pratik Jain for a six over square leg.

Tamil Nadu became champion for the third timeNow Tamil Nadu has become the most successful team of the tournament, winning not one or two but three finals. Baroda, Gujarat and Karnataka have done this feat twice each. Last year Tamil Nadu won the tournament by defeating Baroda. This time it was Karnataka’s turn. Interestingly, the opening season was also named by Tamil Nadu itself. This time the Tamil team defeated Punjab by two wickets in the semi-finals to enter the final.

- Advertisement -

Yellow Army Dhoom
This year is the third major occasion when the team with the yellow jersey has won the T20 tournament. First of all, Chennai Super Kings won the IPL final. Then Australia won the World T20 a few weeks ago and now Tamil Nadu, the team with the yellow jersey, captured the Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy.

Shahrukh Khan’s innings
Shahrukh Khan scored 33 not out off 15 balls, which included one four and three sixes. Batting first after losing the toss, Karnataka’s score was 32 for three at one point of time, but they managed to score 151 for seven in the end. For him, Abhinav Manohar contributed 46 and Praveen Dubey 33 while J Suchit made 18 runs in seven balls. Left-arm spinner R Sai Kishore took three wickets for 12 runs in four overs for Tamil Nadu.

Tamil Nadu won like this
Chasing the target, Tamil Nadu batted very slowly in the middle. Hari Nishant (23 off 12 balls) and N Jagadeesan (42 off 46 balls) added 29 runs for the first wicket. Tamil Nadu batsmen struggled to score runs after Nishant was dismissed. Captain Vijay Shankar scored 18 runs, but for this he played 22 balls. This put pressure on the team and they needed 30 runs in the last two overs. Shahrukh, who specializes in playing long shots, took over from here. He had given hope to the team by hitting a six off the last ball of the 19th over of Vidyasagar Patil.

[Attribution to NBT]

- Advertisement -