This catch of Virat turned the match, West Indies forced to lose thrilling

- Advertisement -

Ahmedabad: Due to the brilliant bowling of (4/12), India saved a small score against West Indies (IND vs WI 2nd ODI score) in the second ODI of the three-match series played at the Narendra Modi Stadium, Ahmedabad on Wednesday. and won the match by 44 runs. With this, the Indian team took an unassailable 2-0 lead in the series. In response to India’s 237 runs, West Indies were reduced to 193 runs in 46 overs. Shamrah Brooks 44 and Akeel Hussain scored 34 runs for the team. The most famous of India’s Krishna (Prasidh Krishna) took four wickets in his name. At the same time, (Shardul Thakur) took two wickets, while Yuzvendra Chahal, Mohammad Siraj, Washington Sundar and Deepak Hooda took one wicket each.

The thrill came from the strong batting of Odeon Smith
Odeon Smith was on the field and the match looked to be exciting. Had Smith been on the field, the result of the match might have changed, but the clever captaincy of Rohit Sharma and the tremendous fielding of Virat Kohli spoiled the game of West Indies. Actually, Smith was playing after scoring 24 runs and Alzarri Joseph was supporting him. Smith had hit two sixes and the Windies team expected similar shots from him.

… then Rohit laid the trapRohit Sharma laid a net after the 44th over and caught Smith. He opened the field and decided to stop the boundary. When runs were not scored off the opening balls of Washington Sundar’s over, Odeon decided to play an aerial shot. This is where he missed. The ball went very high, but if the fielder was Virat Kohli, then there was no hope of mistake. It happened exactly the same. Kohli took the difficult catch very cleanly. From here the match turned.

- Advertisement -

West Indies innings thrill
Chasing the target, the West Indies team suffered two blows for 38 runs as Brandon King (18) and Darren Bravo (1) became the victims of the famous Krishna. At the other end, opener Shai Hope was looking in excellent touch, but he was caught by Suryakumar Yadav on Chahal’s delivery after scoring 27 runs with the help of three fours. Thereafter, on the field captain Nicholas Pooran and Shamrah Brooks handled the faltering innings and tried to chase down the target. Meanwhile, in the 17th over, Pooran hit a six off Chahal. But Captain Pooran could not last long and scored 9 runs and returned to the pavilion after being dismissed by famous. After 20 overs, the team’s score was 66 runs for the loss of four wickets, still needing 172 runs to win. Inform batsman Jason Holder (2), who came in sixth place, was also caught by Shardul Thakur. After this, Aqeel Hossain shared a partnership of 41 runs in 54 balls with Brooks, but Deepak Hooda did not allow this partnership to settle for long and sent Brooks to the pavilion for 44 runs. After 31 overs, the team’s score was 117 runs for the loss of six wickets. West Indies still needed 121 runs. Fabian Allen, who came to bat at number eight, tried to chase down the target with Hossain. Together they put up the biggest partnership of 42 runs in 49 balls. But Siraj got Allen (13) caught out by Pant. By this time the team’s score was 159 runs for the loss of seven wickets in the 39th over. Now West Indies needed 79 runs in 66 balls to win. After this, Shardul gave the eighth blow to the West Indies, when Hussain (34) was caught by Pant and sent back. Odion Smith, who came at number nine, tried to reduce the target by hitting two sixes in two balls to Shardul. But he was dismissed by Sundar after scoring 24 runs. After this, Kemar Roach (0) was dismissed lbw by famous for his fourth victim. At the same time, West Indies were bundled out for 193 runs in 46 overs, as India won the match by 44 runs and took an unassailable 2-0 lead in the series.

Indian innings thrillEarlier, opting to bat after losing the toss, the start of the Indian team was very poor, as West Indies gave three blows to India within 43 runs. Meanwhile, opener captain Rohit Sharma (5), Rishabh Pant (18) and Virat Kohli (18) soon returned to the pavilion. India’s faltering innings was once again handled by Suryakumar Yadav along with KL Rahul and the score crossed 100 runs. After 29 overs, India’s score was 130 runs for the loss of three wickets. In the very next over, Rahul was dismissed for 49 with the help of four fours and two sixes, ending his 90-run partnership with Suryakumar. Thereafter, Washington Sundar, who came at number six, along with Suryakumar moved up the score board. Meanwhile, Suryakumar completed his fifty in 70 balls, taking India’s score to 165 for the loss of four wickets in 37 overs. But in the pursuit of scoring runs at a fast pace, Suryakumar (64) was caught by Alzarri Joseph off the delivery of Fabian Allen. India got the fifth blow in the 39th over for 177 runs. After this Sundar (24) also became the victim of Aqeel Hussain. In the 47th over, Shardul Thakur (8) was caught by Joseph, giving India the seventh blow for 212 runs. India’s wickets kept falling at one end. At the other end, Deepak Hooda was adding important runs for India. Mohammad Siraj (3) Joseph got caught by Shai Hope. After all, Hooda gave his wicket to Holder after scoring 29 runs. After this, Yuzvendra Chahal (11 not out) and famous Krishna (0 not out) took India’s score to 237 for the loss of nine wickets in 50 overs. Odion Smith and Alzarri Joseph took two wickets each for West Indies. While Kemar Roach, Jason Holder, Fabian Allen and Akil Hossain took one wicket each.

[Attribution to NBT]

- Advertisement -